Instructor of the Year

Every year we celebrate the achievements and dedication of a member, who gained an Instructor rating in the previous 12 months, with the Instructor of the Year award.

This prestigious award recognises that the Instructor not only did very well on the Instructor Course, but is also the type of Instructor that Students would be very happy to turn to for advice.


Having been in the sport for many years and already a Category System Instructor, Stephen has always applied enthusiasm and dedication whilst teaching students. Stephen’s home PTO Sky-High Skydiving, Peterlee made the decision to discontinue static line training. This meant he would struggle to maintain currency. Therefore, Stephen opted to try to become an Accelerated Free Fall instructor, and after a great deal of hard work obtained that rating in 2022.


Amii is a Category System Instructor and Accelerated Freefall Instructor at the Army Parachute Association.

A display jumper with the RLC Silver Stars Army Parachute Display Team, Amii is also a member of  VOLT4GE, the British Army 4-way Formation Skydiving Team who are current British National Champions in the AA category.


Gary Windon is a Category System Instructor based at Skydive Tilstock Freefall Club. Gary has been a half-time hospice chaplain for 16 years.

2018: Emily Aucutt

Emily Aucutt is a AFF Instructor based at Skydive Langar. Emily quickly went from weekend visitor to living on a drop zone to working full time in the sport. 

Previous Winners

1982Steve Thomas
1983Felicity Martin
1984Ted Oldrey
1985George Campbell
1986Greg Cox
1987Mark Greenfield
1988Alan Brooks
1989Philip A. Fixens
1990Andy Peckett
1991Clem Quinn
1992Alan Burkill
1993Debbie Ingle
1994Eddie Smerdon
1995Dave Rugg
1996David Openshaw
1997Andy Godwin
1998Barrie Buck
1999Zoe Carroll
2000Jeff Montgomery
2001Richard Allaway
2002Geoff Mason
2003Lisa James
2004Steven Forster
2005Gavin Tuckley
2006Pelham Georghiades
2007Genevieve Huntley
2008Joanne Burns
2009Jonathan Irving
2010Tim Hanlon
2011Duncan Cockburn
2012Frank Millerick
2013Sian Stokes
2014David 'Bobby' Charlton
2015Andrew Pointer
2016Becky Hill
2017Liza Yianni
2018Emily Aucutt
2019Gary Windon